Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Tweeted twitter.com/super_user/status/1032870438441967616
added 100 characters in body
Source Link

Hey so I'm having issues with the windows 10 search bar on the bottom left which are it really slow, and it not finding files. I just upgraded from windows 8.1 and I absolutely LOVED the charms search bar because it found anything I was looking for in a split second.

When I first got windows 10 the search bar would only look for things in the C drive, so I looked up some stuff and found that I had to re-index my other drives (also deleted cortana because she was irritating). That temporarily fixed the problem of files not being found, but it also made the searches take a really long time to find results. But, after a few days I noticed that the search bar wasn't finding new files downloaded after the indexing date. Re-indexing seems to fix the problem but my computer has a few million files and I'm not willing to rebuild every few days.

Anyone have any ideas to why the search is slow/not updating, and how to make it more like windows 8.1's?

Also does anyone happen to know if windows 10 uses a different search algorithm than windows 8.1

Hey so I'm having issues with the windows 10 search bar on the bottom left which are it really slow, and it not finding files. I just upgraded from windows 8.1 and I absolutely LOVED the charms search bar because it found anything I was looking for in a split second.

When I first got windows 10 the search bar would only look for things in the C drive, so I looked up some stuff and found that I had to re-index my other drives (also deleted cortana because she was irritating). That temporarily fixed the problem of files not being found, but it also made the searches take a really long time to find results. But, after a few days I noticed that the search bar wasn't finding new files downloaded after the indexing date. Re-indexing seems to fix the problem but my computer has a few million files and I'm not willing to rebuild every few days.

Anyone have any ideas to why the search is slow/not updating, and how to make it more like windows 8.1's?

Hey so I'm having issues with the windows 10 search bar on the bottom left which are it really slow, and it not finding files. I just upgraded from windows 8.1 and I absolutely LOVED the charms search bar because it found anything I was looking for in a split second.

When I first got windows 10 the search bar would only look for things in the C drive, so I looked up some stuff and found that I had to re-index my other drives (also deleted cortana because she was irritating). That temporarily fixed the problem of files not being found, but it also made the searches take a really long time to find results. But, after a few days I noticed that the search bar wasn't finding new files downloaded after the indexing date. Re-indexing seems to fix the problem but my computer has a few million files and I'm not willing to rebuild every few days.

Anyone have any ideas to why the search is slow/not updating, and how to make it more like windows 8.1's?

Also does anyone happen to know if windows 10 uses a different search algorithm than windows 8.1

Source Link

Windows 10 search bar malfunctioning

Hey so I'm having issues with the windows 10 search bar on the bottom left which are it really slow, and it not finding files. I just upgraded from windows 8.1 and I absolutely LOVED the charms search bar because it found anything I was looking for in a split second.

When I first got windows 10 the search bar would only look for things in the C drive, so I looked up some stuff and found that I had to re-index my other drives (also deleted cortana because she was irritating). That temporarily fixed the problem of files not being found, but it also made the searches take a really long time to find results. But, after a few days I noticed that the search bar wasn't finding new files downloaded after the indexing date. Re-indexing seems to fix the problem but my computer has a few million files and I'm not willing to rebuild every few days.

Anyone have any ideas to why the search is slow/not updating, and how to make it more like windows 8.1's?