Skip to main content

Timeline for Stack Overflow Extras (SOX)

Current License: CC BY-SA 3.0

16 events
when toggle format what by license comment
S Feb 28, 2015 at 21:02 history suggested ᔕᖺᘎᕊ CC BY-SA 3.0
done firefox and removed alert
Feb 28, 2015 at 20:55 review Suggested edits
S Feb 28, 2015 at 21:02
Feb 28, 2015 at 20:14 comment added ᔕᖺᘎᕊ Thanks for adding this link to SOUP :) I have no problem with you stealing some things - I think the many difference between SOUP and this is that SOUP generally fixes bugs while this (no acronym unfortunately ;( - AOF?) adds features - so a slight overlap is obviously going to happen (eg. a bug, but not actually a bug = bug+feature-request), but a full on replica is just useless ;p. And I have no problem with you stealing snippets for SOUP :)
Feb 28, 2015 at 19:32 comment added Ilmari Karonen Thanks, no problem. :) Ps. I notice that there's already some overlap (e.g. this) between your script and SOUP, and I think I might want to steal a few more of the less controversial features (with appropriate credit, of course!). ;) That said, I think your script will make an excellent complement to SOUP (which doesn't come with a settings panel to toggle features, and so generally avoids anything controversial). You may have noticed that I've added a link to your script from the SOUP home page. :)
Feb 28, 2015 at 19:28 comment added ᔕᖺᘎᕊ You put a good argument forward ;p I guess... you're right... I'll remove the alert and rename the button in the next version (when I've tested on Firefox and also add the needed require) :)
Feb 28, 2015 at 19:26 comment added Ilmari Karonen Sure, accepted. I can live with the alert, but I don't really see why it's necessary; the dialog closing already indicates that something happened, and generally when you click a "Save" button (BTW, shouldn't it say something like "Save settings" instead of "Submit"?), you'd assume it saved the settings. With the new persistent checkboxes, it's also easy enough to verify if you don't trust it.
S Feb 28, 2015 at 19:19 history suggested ᔕᖺᘎᕊ CC BY-SA 3.0
status-* tags added
Feb 28, 2015 at 19:17 review Suggested edits
S Feb 28, 2015 at 19:19
Feb 28, 2015 at 19:15 comment added ᔕᖺᘎᕊ Whoops...! Only just saw your message! I just published the gist and looks like they're the same changes- sorry! Regarding your last edit-isn't that being a bit too pedantic? I think it's unnecessary-I agree it can be a pain in testing, but can be useful when being used normally - or you might just think nothing happened without checking the console, and I don't think you should need to do that. Your CSS works in different resolutions, so I've used that - thanks again for that - and I'm still in the process of checking with Firefox incompatibilities. Please accept my edit for the status-* tags
Feb 28, 2015 at 18:57 history edited Ilmari Karonen CC BY-SA 3.0
added 109 characters in body
Feb 28, 2015 at 18:50 comment added Ilmari Karonen Ps. I forked your gist and committed fixes for some of the issues listed above. I don't think I can create a proper pull request for a gist, but you may want to review the changes and merge them yourself, if they look good to you.
Feb 28, 2015 at 18:35 comment added Ilmari Karonen I just meant that the code that checks if all the checkboxes are unchecked, and, if so, brings up an alert saying "Please check at least one box!", seems to be completely unnecessary (and mildly annoying when testing).
Feb 28, 2015 at 18:33 history edited Ilmari Karonen CC BY-SA 3.0
added 525 characters in body
Feb 28, 2015 at 18:30 comment added ᔕᖺᘎᕊ Thanks for telling me about the incompatibility with Firefox, will look into that. I don't know why the options box comes off-screen, works for me, so I'll try using your CSS on different resolutions - that may be the problem...? I'll make the text come after the checkbox (I'm not the best in design and user interaction ;p). I'll make it so that the checkboxes fill from the settings. But could you clarify the last bullet please? I don't exactly get what you say - are you saying there should be an option to disable all the features? And I'll see what I can do about the MSE profile change.
Feb 28, 2015 at 18:14 history edited Ilmari Karonen CC BY-SA 3.0
added 288 characters in body
Feb 28, 2015 at 18:02 history answered Ilmari Karonen CC BY-SA 3.0