Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

43
  • 2
    If you use GM setValue() instead of a cookie, then your script will remember the options across every site. They could even be synched from one machine to another, if the user desires. Commented Jan 11, 2015 at 22:47
  • 1
    Here's one feature you might consider: meta.stackexchange.com/questions/249679/… (There's no way that would get into SOUP, but as an optional feature...) Commented Feb 28, 2015 at 20:03
  • 2
    For anyone who uses Safari, as a replacement for Greasemonkey, etc., you can use NinjaKit.
    – Cullub
    Commented Feb 8, 2016 at 12:47
  • 1
    @ᔕᖺᘎᕊ, it did in Firefox once upon a time. Haven't rechecked in a while but it still should. Commented Mar 12, 2016 at 10:59
  • 1
    @iRove sorry, not really; if the cogs icon got hidden then there would be no way to ever get back to the settings panel again if you ever wanted to disable a feature, or more importantly enable a new feature that comes in new versions. If you really dislike it, if you have an ad-blocker, you can 'block' the element and unblock it in the future...? If you have any other ideas, I'd be happy to look into them, but there needs to be a way to open the settings panel again :/ Commented Aug 15, 2016 at 18:08
  • 1
    @ᔕᖺᘎᕊ Thank you for the quick response! Wow, clever. I'll try to use my ad-blocker to enable/disable the settings cog and get back to you in a second. Love the features in the script!
    – iRove
    Commented Aug 15, 2016 at 18:09
  • 1
    @ᔕᖺᘎᕊ Your solution with the ad-blocker worked perfectly. Just blocked the element on all stack exchange sites, and can unblock it whenever I want to customize. I appreciate the time and effort you put into this project! :-)
    – iRove
    Commented Aug 15, 2016 at 18:20
  • 1
    Yes, indeed. I just installed it a couple of days ago. Had to come here to figure out I needed the development version to make it work on Stack Overflow, but everything is good now. Only thing I don't like is it tends to make the page loads laggier, and elements jump around after load, which makes them moving targets for the mouse. But that's really unavoidable with a userscript and not really your fault. It's nice work overall. Commented Aug 30, 2017 at 4:07
  • 1
    SOX seems non-functional now that the new top-bar has been rolled out
    – Valorum
    Commented Oct 10, 2017 at 18:42
  • 1
    @Valorum many many months later, if you're still interested, I managed to fix it... sorry for how long this took Commented Feb 24, 2018 at 20:44
  • 1
    @sag It should be! Some people in the past have told me about issues when both are installed but I try my best to fix them :) If you use SOX with SOUP and notice something off, please do tell me! Commented Jul 16, 2018 at 20:47
  • 1
    @ᔕᖺᘎᕊ It seems the problem is due to Greasemonkey. I replaced it with Tampermonkey and now it's working fine. Probably that was the reason many of my scripts didn't work in FF. But I don't know why it asks To complete the SOX installation, you need to get an access token! Please press "OK" to continue and follow the instructions in the window that opens. every time I open a new page
    – phuclv
    Commented Aug 21, 2018 at 16:20
  • 1
    I didn't see any popup blocked message appeared. But I managed to get the token by clicking the gears button and click the key at the bottom
    – phuclv
    Commented Aug 21, 2018 at 17:00
  • 1
    @ᔕᖺᘎᕊ, Thanks for finding the time to get back into this (and thanks to others who have worked on it)! Once you use SOX, it's hard to be without it. I've stuck with FF 52 ESR because I rely on some old add-ons that don't have replacements, and I'm running Tampermonkey. I've encountered some bugs, but they could well be FF-related, so I won't even bother reporting them unless I replicate them in a current FF. The current version looks great, BTW.
    – fixer1234
    Commented Aug 21, 2018 at 20:16
  • 1
    @ᔕᖺᘎᕊ Sorry for the delayed response: It now works. I do not know what the problem was, but after a restart of my laptop, things are back to normal. I'll chime in again if the issue is reproduced. Meanwhile, thanks for the great tool and Cheers!! Commented May 30, 2019 at 14:18