Skip to main content
deleted 84 characters in body
Source Link
user1027
user1027

Note: This question contains spoilers for The Martian By Andy Weir.


In The Martian, Watney tries taking a laptop out of the hab to write down a message from Earth but:

The screen went black before I was out of the airlock. Turns out the "L" in "LCD" stands for "Liquid". I guess it either froze or boiled off. Maybe I’ll post a consumer review. "Brought product to surface of Mars. It stopped working. 0/10."

Then...

on the way to Schiaparelli (well after the hab breach), Watney uses a laptop to synchronise the videos of the solar panel output (he also watches tons of TV which I assumed he did on a laptop but I don't think that's explicitly stated).

How did the laptop survive? Is there any mention of this in the book which I missed?

Note: This question contains spoilers for The Martian By Andy Weir.


In The Martian, Watney tries taking a laptop out of the hab to write down a message from Earth but:

The screen went black before I was out of the airlock. Turns out the "L" in "LCD" stands for "Liquid". I guess it either froze or boiled off. Maybe I’ll post a consumer review. "Brought product to surface of Mars. It stopped working. 0/10."

Then...

on the way to Schiaparelli (well after the hab breach), Watney uses a laptop to synchronise the videos of the solar panel output (he also watches tons of TV which I assumed he did on a laptop but I don't think that's explicitly stated).

How did the laptop survive? Is there any mention of this in the book which I missed?

In The Martian, Watney tries taking a laptop out of the hab to write down a message from Earth but:

The screen went black before I was out of the airlock. Turns out the "L" in "LCD" stands for "Liquid". I guess it either froze or boiled off. Maybe I’ll post a consumer review. "Brought product to surface of Mars. It stopped working. 0/10."

Then...

on the way to Schiaparelli (well after the hab breach), Watney uses a laptop to synchronise the videos of the solar panel output (he also watches tons of TV which I assumed he did on a laptop but I don't think that's explicitly stated).

How did the laptop survive? Is there any mention of this in the book which I missed?

From meta it seems that adding [SPOILERS] in the title is discouraged
Source Link
Motti
  • 1.7k
  • 1
  • 13
  • 23

Survival of laptops in Mars' environment [SPOILERS]

Note: This question contains spoilers for The Martian By Andy Weir.


In The Martian, Watney tries taking a laptop out of the hab to write down thea message from Earth but:

The screen went black before I was out of the airlock. Turns out the "L" in "LCD" stands for "Liquid". I guess it either froze or boiled off. Maybe I’ll post a consumer review. "Brought product to surface of Mars. It stopped working. 0/10."

Then...

on the way to Schiaparelli (well after the hab breach), Watney uses a laptop to synchronise the videos of the solar panel output (he also watches tons of TV which I assumed he did on a laptop but I don't think that's explicitly stated).

How did the laptop survive? Is there any mention of this in the book which I missed? How did the laptop survive? Is there any mention of this in the book which I missed?

Survival of laptops in Mars' environment [SPOILERS]

Note: This question contains spoilers for The Martian By Andy Weir.


In The Martian, Watney tries taking a laptop out of the hab to write down the message from Earth but:

The screen went black before I was out of the airlock. Turns out the "L" in "LCD" stands for "Liquid". I guess it either froze or boiled off. Maybe I’ll post a consumer review. "Brought product to surface of Mars. It stopped working. 0/10."

Then...

on the way to Schiaparelli (well after the hab breach), Watney uses a laptop to synchronise the videos of the solar panel output (he also watches tons of TV which I assumed he did on a laptop but I don't think that's explicitly stated).

How did the laptop survive? Is there any mention of this in the book which I missed?

Survival of laptops in Mars' environment

Note: This question contains spoilers for The Martian By Andy Weir.


In The Martian, Watney tries taking a laptop out of the hab to write down a message from Earth but:

The screen went black before I was out of the airlock. Turns out the "L" in "LCD" stands for "Liquid". I guess it either froze or boiled off. Maybe I’ll post a consumer review. "Brought product to surface of Mars. It stopped working. 0/10."

Then...

on the way to Schiaparelli (well after the hab breach), Watney uses a laptop to synchronise the videos of the solar panel output (he also watches tons of TV which I assumed he did on a laptop but I don't think that's explicitly stated).

How did the laptop survive? Is there any mention of this in the book which I missed?

Formatting, added spoiler tags.
Source Link
Praxis
  • 111.4k
  • 50
  • 513
  • 692

Survival of laptops in Mars' environment [SPOILERS]

Note: This question contains spoilers for The Martian By Andy Weir.


In The Martian, Watney tries taking a laptop out of the hab to write down the message from Earth but:

The screen went black before I was out of the airlock. Turns out the “L” in “LCD” stands for “Liquid.” I guess it either froze or boiled off. Maybe I’ll post a consumer review. “Brought product to surface of Mars. It stopped working. 0/10”

The screen went black before I was out of the airlock. Turns out the "L" in "LCD" stands for "Liquid". I guess it either froze or boiled off. Maybe I’ll post a consumer review. "Brought product to surface of Mars. It stopped working. 0/10."

Then on the way to Schiaparelli (well after the hab breach) Watney uses a laptop to synchronise the videos of the solar panel output (he also watches tons of TV which I assumed he did on a laptop but I don't think that's explicitly stated)...

on the way to Schiaparelli (well after the hab breach), Watney uses a laptop to synchronise the videos of the solar panel output (he also watches tons of TV which I assumed he did on a laptop but I don't think that's explicitly stated).

How did the laptop survive? Is there any mention of this in the book which I missed?How did the laptop survive? Is there any mention of this in the book which I missed?

Survival of laptops in Mars' environment

Note: This question contains spoilers for The Martian By Andy Weir.


In The Martian Watney tries taking a laptop out of the hab to write down the message from Earth but:

The screen went black before I was out of the airlock. Turns out the “L” in “LCD” stands for “Liquid.” I guess it either froze or boiled off. Maybe I’ll post a consumer review. “Brought product to surface of Mars. It stopped working. 0/10”

Then on the way to Schiaparelli (well after the hab breach) Watney uses a laptop to synchronise the videos of the solar panel output (he also watches tons of TV which I assumed he did on a laptop but I don't think that's explicitly stated).

How did the laptop survive? Is there any mention of this in the book which I missed?

Survival of laptops in Mars' environment [SPOILERS]

Note: This question contains spoilers for The Martian By Andy Weir.


In The Martian, Watney tries taking a laptop out of the hab to write down the message from Earth but:

The screen went black before I was out of the airlock. Turns out the "L" in "LCD" stands for "Liquid". I guess it either froze or boiled off. Maybe I’ll post a consumer review. "Brought product to surface of Mars. It stopped working. 0/10."

Then...

on the way to Schiaparelli (well after the hab breach), Watney uses a laptop to synchronise the videos of the solar panel output (he also watches tons of TV which I assumed he did on a laptop but I don't think that's explicitly stated).

How did the laptop survive? Is there any mention of this in the book which I missed?

Source Link
Motti
  • 1.7k
  • 1
  • 13
  • 23
Loading