Skip to main content
Question Protected by CommunityBot
added crosspost and multipost as search fodder
Source Link

It is possible to migrate a question from one Stack Exchange site to another by closing, but if I have a question that I think is on-topic for multiple Stack Exchange sites, is it OK to post it on both (multipost)?

For example, I have a question that's earned me the tumbleweed badge on SO and I'm not sure what the best thing to do with it is. It's about a web server so it might be answerable on Server Fault but it's really more of a programming thing, hence the posting the question on Stack Overflow.

Is there any way to make the question visible on multiple sites (crosspost) and then accept the answer wherever it came from?

Return to FAQ index

It is possible to migrate a question from one Stack Exchange site to another by closing, but if I have a question that I think is on-topic for multiple Stack Exchange sites, is it OK to post it on both?

For example, I have a question that's earned me the tumbleweed badge on SO and I'm not sure what the best thing to do with it is. It's about a web server so it might be answerable on Server Fault but it's really more of a programming thing, hence the posting the question on Stack Overflow.

Is there any way to make the question visible on multiple sites and then accept the answer wherever it came from?

Return to FAQ index

It is possible to migrate a question from one Stack Exchange site to another by closing, but if I have a question that I think is on-topic for multiple Stack Exchange sites, is it OK to post it on both (multipost)?

For example, I have a question that's earned me the tumbleweed badge on SO and I'm not sure what the best thing to do with it is. It's about a web server so it might be answerable on Server Fault but it's really more of a programming thing, hence the posting the question on Stack Overflow.

Is there any way to make the question visible on multiple sites (crosspost) and then accept the answer wherever it came from?

Return to FAQ index

Question Unprotected by Jeff Atwood
edited title
Link
user102937
user102937

Is cross-posting a question on multiple Stack Exchange sites permitted if the question is on-topic onfor each site?

Question Protected by user102937
Clarified the question to be a bit more general as an FAQ, made the title better
Source Link
nhinkle
  • 12.1k
  • 40
  • 70

Is it possible to post questions acrosscross-posting a couple of thequestion on multiple Stack Exchange sites because it's debatable whichpermitted if the question is on-topic on each site it fits best?

I know you can moveIt is possible to migrate a question from stackoverflowone Stack Exchange site to serverfaultanother by closing, but if I have a question that I think is on-topic for multiple Stack Exchange sites, is it OK to post it on both?

For example but, I have a question that's earned me the tumbleweed badge on SO and I'm not sure what the best thing to do with it is.

  It's about a web server so it might be answerable on serverfaultServer Fault but it's really more of a programmerprogramming thing, hence the posting the question on SOStack Overflow.

It would be really neat if I couldIs there any way to make the question as visible on bothmultiple sites and then accept the answer wherever it came from.?

Return to FAQ index

Is it possible to post questions across a couple of the sites because it's debatable which site it fits best?

I know you can move a question from stackoverflow to serverfault for example but I have a question that's earned me the tumbleweed badge on SO and I'm not sure what the best thing to do with it is.

  It's about a web server so it might be answerable on serverfault but it's really more of a programmer thing, hence the posting the question on SO.

It would be really neat if I could make the question as visible on both and then accept the answer wherever it came from.

Return to FAQ index

Is cross-posting a question on multiple Stack Exchange sites permitted if the question is on-topic on each site?

It is possible to migrate a question from one Stack Exchange site to another by closing, but if I have a question that I think is on-topic for multiple Stack Exchange sites, is it OK to post it on both?

For example, I have a question that's earned me the tumbleweed badge on SO and I'm not sure what the best thing to do with it is. It's about a web server so it might be answerable on Server Fault but it's really more of a programming thing, hence the posting the question on Stack Overflow.

Is there any way to make the question visible on multiple sites and then accept the answer wherever it came from?

Return to FAQ index

Post Made Community Wiki by user102937
Second time I had to root this one out; with JA answering I believe it should be a faq for crossposts.
Source Link
user1228
user1228
Loading
edited tags
Link
BinaryMisfit
  • 27.6k
  • 11
  • 72
  • 114
Loading
Source Link
Colin Newell
  • 241
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Loading