Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • Or just Fix ... which avoids participlizing
    – philipxy
    Commented Mar 6 at 11:53
  • I agree that this is as well enough, even if these two examples are also not a full question. By this, you agree that How to... without a question mark might have a right to survive. People who upvote this or agree with this should know that they upvote also a sort of How to... fix as put in the question. In a former discussion, people still insisted on asking How do I/you... or How can I/you, but I think that allowing for gerunds helps saving some space and makes the question landscape more colourful. Commented Mar 6 at 12:57
  • 1
    This advice is the exact opposite of the advice stated in the Meta SE FAQ post: How do I write a good title? Commented Mar 7 at 10:53
  • @galacticninja This is not an advice. This discussion is about changing the questions with a new feature request to, for example, gerunds. For now, it is not allowed. I discussed that link with others in another meta thread which I do not know without spending more time on searching. But you are right, they say that "How to unzip a zip file from the Terminal?" belongs to "Some Good Examples" in that link. And I do not understand this since I am still quite sure that someone and/or a text told me that it is plain wrong to say "How to ... ?" with a question mark at the end. Commented Mar 7 at 12:00