Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

10
  • 10
    I re-read your question after replacing my spectacles with the correct pair and I get it now. It seems like a minor quibble compared with the sort of things that the developers prefer to spend their time adjusting and the 25,000 + feature-requests outstanding.
    – W.O.
    Commented Mar 6 at 1:12
  • 1
    @W.O. It is wrong grammar every day, everywhere, and the pattern can easily by found and the changes be coded, and if it is just a warning, it is even less work. This would be a small project that could be done by machines. Commented Mar 6 at 1:15
  • 7
    It may help you to understand the unlikelihood of this being implemented if you see the company's priorities currently as stated: No April Fools 2024 prank: rationale and next steps. They're too busy ensuring the survival and profitability to be concerned about grammatical errors of English which they may not (being largely US based) consider to be that bad. The ability to be understood is better than exactitude to most users.
    – W.O.
    Commented Mar 6 at 1:21
  • 10
    It is a statement without the question mark, not a question. The phrasing (with question mark) is acceptable English usage. And you should check your spelling better…
    – Jon Custer
    Commented Mar 6 at 2:18
  • @JonCuster No, I had a discussion on this with native English people and afterwards also searched for this. I am afraid that I could not quickly recall where this happened. The outcome of my research was that this grammar is plain wrong. One of us is wrong here. I want to find out what you would say if you were wrong by saying: "The phrasing (with question mark) is acceptable English usage." Have you thought of the chance that you are just wrong with that? And would that change your whole view on this discussion here? Commented Mar 6 at 12:53
  • 7
    As a native (American) English speaker with an English professor for a mother... There is a long tradition of 'language mavens' (or depending on your point of view 'grammar Nazis' - both were used in the 1970s-90s) seeking to strictly define what 'proper English' is. They fail on two counts: one, language is highly flexible. Two, almost all attempts to strictly define 'proper' English were motivated by race and class distinctions. "How to X" and "How to X?" would be pronounced differently, and perfectly well understood by nearly everyone. It may not be 'proper' according to some, but it works.
    – Jon Custer
    Commented Mar 6 at 14:39
  • @JonCuster I ask you whether it is wrong or right, and you answer that language changes and we should not care. I think that is worth an answer since if that is true - that you as a native speaker do not care about it as long as it is understandable or has some place in history - then it is also your playground, since I did not even know that it was wrong up to a month ago or two. I made that mistake over years without knowing that it was wrong. Commented Mar 6 at 18:06
  • 3
    But it isn't wrong - look, if this is the windmill you want to tilt at in the face of common usage, fine. Just don't expect anyone else to get excited about it, much less approve your edits.
    – Jon Custer
    Commented Mar 6 at 20:05
  • @JonCuster I have done about five of such edits, do not worry. And I cleaned up my own things. That is all. That is why I asked the question here: I planned to do so while I made such small changes, thinking that it is not the windmill I want to tilt at if I understand that proverb right, so I agree. It is Sisyphus work. Commented Mar 6 at 20:45
  • @JonCuster If people like you say that it does not matter so much since language changes, that is also a remark I can deal with, it could be one of the answers. But if nobody wants to prove that it is wrong or not, the discussion is not grounded. I thought it would be wrong, else I would not have asked. And it might still be true that it is wrong, even if everyday language has changed. Commented Mar 7 at 7:27