Skip to main content
13 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Dec 19, 2019 at 22:43 comment added aparente001 Correction: for they, ey.
Dec 18, 2019 at 23:50 comment added aparente001 @ColleenVpartedways - I learned a set yesterday that was new to me. It was probably mentioned here but maybe I wasn't paying good attention. Their = eir, them = em, they = ee, for him or herself: emself. // Is the hurt coming from people drawing lines in the sand (not using them is disrespectful ... they feel all wrong to me and I refuse to use them [which is not your position]), or something else?
Dec 18, 2019 at 21:43 comment added ColleenV @aparente001 But I don’t think the solution is “less than ideal”. I think the neopronoun solutions that are currently being implemented are terrible, divisive solutions that are hurting some people unnecessarily. That said, I would not contribute to that hurt by refusing to use someone’s pronouns. People more important than disagreements over how best to achieve some goal. I can be kind and respectful to an individual without having to accept everything they believe or forcing them to accept everything I believe.
Dec 18, 2019 at 4:20 comment added aparente001 There's good stuff here, but "terrible" does make me uncomfortable. Not uncomfortable as in, I need to flag this, but uncomfortable as in, I have a hard time upvoting this despite the paragraphs I really like. Your analysis is a breath of fresh air; the last paragraph is great (but makes me sad, since it's sometimes been difficult or impossible for me to get needed support from moderators --and "Contact Us" is useless when there's no response for weeks or months). "Terrible" is a strong word, coming from you. I'd jump to upvote "I personally think neopronouns are a less than ideal solution".
Dec 17, 2019 at 21:18 history edited ColleenV CC BY-SA 4.0
added 36 characters in body
Dec 3, 2019 at 21:50 history edited ColleenV CC BY-SA 4.0
added 63 characters in body
Nov 22, 2019 at 19:41 history edited ColleenV CC BY-SA 4.0
added 13 characters in body
Nov 21, 2019 at 19:21 history bounty ended CommunityBot
Nov 20, 2019 at 19:54 history edited ColleenV CC BY-SA 4.0
deleted 3 characters in body
Nov 20, 2019 at 16:45 history edited ColleenV CC BY-SA 4.0
added 1342 characters in body
Nov 18, 2019 at 22:02 comment added ColleenV @BelovedFool I did debate putting it in there, but this question is very relevant to why I think neopronouns are a bad solution. I don’t think the people who like neopronouns as a solution are bad people or shouldn’t advocate for a solution they like. And of course I would not state my opinion about them in a way I thought would make someone who has those pronouns feel disrespected. I should be able to state my opinion without you taking that to mean I am attacking you.
Nov 18, 2019 at 20:54 comment added BelovedFool "Did I mention that I think neopronouns are a terrible solution for gender expression?" -> You might want to get rid of that. I don't see how it's helping your answer and I also feel personally attacked by it since I use "neo-pronouns" in my native langage.
Nov 18, 2019 at 20:09 history answered ColleenV CC BY-SA 4.0