Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • 6
    "Did I mention that I think neopronouns are a terrible solution for gender expression?" -> You might want to get rid of that. I don't see how it's helping your answer and I also feel personally attacked by it since I use "neo-pronouns" in my native langage. Commented Nov 18, 2019 at 20:54
  • 37
    @BelovedFool I did debate putting it in there, but this question is very relevant to why I think neopronouns are a bad solution. I don’t think the people who like neopronouns as a solution are bad people or shouldn’t advocate for a solution they like. And of course I would not state my opinion about them in a way I thought would make someone who has those pronouns feel disrespected. I should be able to state my opinion without you taking that to mean I am attacking you.
    – ColleenV
    Commented Nov 18, 2019 at 22:02
  • There's good stuff here, but "terrible" does make me uncomfortable. Not uncomfortable as in, I need to flag this, but uncomfortable as in, I have a hard time upvoting this despite the paragraphs I really like. Your analysis is a breath of fresh air; the last paragraph is great (but makes me sad, since it's sometimes been difficult or impossible for me to get needed support from moderators --and "Contact Us" is useless when there's no response for weeks or months). "Terrible" is a strong word, coming from you. I'd jump to upvote "I personally think neopronouns are a less than ideal solution". Commented Dec 18, 2019 at 4:20
  • @aparente001 But I don’t think the solution is “less than ideal”. I think the neopronoun solutions that are currently being implemented are terrible, divisive solutions that are hurting some people unnecessarily. That said, I would not contribute to that hurt by refusing to use someone’s pronouns. People more important than disagreements over how best to achieve some goal. I can be kind and respectful to an individual without having to accept everything they believe or forcing them to accept everything I believe.
    – ColleenV
    Commented Dec 18, 2019 at 21:43
  • @ColleenVpartedways - I learned a set yesterday that was new to me. It was probably mentioned here but maybe I wasn't paying good attention. Their = eir, them = em, they = ee, for him or herself: emself. // Is the hurt coming from people drawing lines in the sand (not using them is disrespectful ... they feel all wrong to me and I refuse to use them [which is not your position]), or something else? Commented Dec 18, 2019 at 23:50
  • Correction: for they, ey. Commented Dec 19, 2019 at 22:43