Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

29
  • 62
    An idea: The 'I don't understand' button could create a post on meta, or a chat room about the audit where people could discuss it, not simply for moderators to review. Just a thought. Commented Jul 14, 2013 at 14:30
  • 6
    @RichardJ.RossIII We could even make it a 10k list.
    – Undo
    Commented Jul 14, 2013 at 14:39
  • 24
    If coders really want to code, I also suggest a "I disagree" button that lets a mod review the audit. Mod agrees with your complaint => as if audit never happened and it won't ever happen again. Mod disagrees => you move towards the ban faster than if you never complained. Commented Jul 14, 2013 at 14:53
  • 64
    @Richard No to Meta - then every person who fails an audit because they legitimately suck at reviewing will throw it over on Meta and we'd end up with a mountain of "why did I fail?" questions. Meta should be reserved as a manual process for good reviewers to ask about audits they legitimately don't understand. Only people who actually need help with an audit will come here, and that's a good thing.
    – animuson StaffMod
    Commented Jul 14, 2013 at 14:54
  • 10
    I disagree. I would understand "I don't understand" as "I don't agree with the audit. Some audits are pick up by random, therefore they can (and sometimes are) be quite controvertial. Commented Jul 14, 2013 at 17:03
  • 10
    +1, I'd be totally behind this! I think the title of your question could be a bit more direct, though: maybe something like "Add an "I disagree" button for failed review audits"? Commented Sep 2, 2013 at 14:31
  • 2
    I've been using this as a duplicate so I just wanted to edit to bring out some of the key points, hope you don't mind Commented Oct 15, 2013 at 9:57
  • 12
    I'd vote for a "No, your review failed" button. I've failed several audits recently where the question was clearly off topic, or didn't ask a question at all. It is one thing if I don't understand why the question is good, but completely different when I am still confident the question is bad. Commented Dec 13, 2013 at 14:55
  • 5
    Hope this happens soon... I just 'failed' a question that was (in my opinion) off topic (suitable for programmers.stackexchange), but the audit thought it was 'high quality'.
    – Gus
    Commented Dec 24, 2013 at 18:35
  • 6
    I just hit a question that needed to be closed as a duplicate (a previous commenter had left a dupe link) and got the "look and listen" BS. If this is going to happen frequently, the review queues can kiss my behind.
    – Pekka
    Commented Dec 26, 2013 at 14:55
  • 7
    I just failed an audit because I was about to add a comment on a "good question". However, before I was able to add the comment or really do anything else, I failed. Others had commented on the question. The idea that doing anything other than upvoting a "good" question goes against the idea that this site is based on voting since you can give a "wrong" vote.
    – zero298
    Commented Apr 5, 2014 at 22:24
  • 16
    On the two occassions where I got a bad audit question, I never clicked on the "I understand" button. I just navigated away from the page. It's very condescending anyway, even when it's right. I'd prefer something like "Whatever you say..."
    – ouflak
    Commented Jul 3, 2014 at 17:05
  • 7
    I stopped reviewing after getting audit fails for thoughtful and careful audits. Helped turn me away from SO. I only work on other sites now.
    – andy256
    Commented Sep 16, 2015 at 0:27
  • 7
    Coming to this discussion a little late, but I agree that the "I understand" button should be modified. It's offensive to find oneself somewhat obliged to click on something which either you disagree with, or simply DON'T understand!
    – Strawberry
    Commented Feb 17, 2016 at 14:01
  • 6
    “I don't understand” implies that the user needs more accurate explainations.
    – neverMind9
    Commented Jul 11, 2018 at 22:39