Skip to main content
Bounty Ended with 50 reputation awarded by Shadow Wizard
update as per boltclock's comment, important to address
Source Link
user50049
user50049

I have no idea why or even if the user decided to do this. I just finished going through every question and viewed any deleted comments, there was only one instance where an accept rate was mentioned, and it was not antagonistic. So, obviously, the user was not overly pressured by people to accept answers that for whatever reason just didn't work for them.

It could simply be that upon realizing that the metric was no longer displayed, they elected to reverse the acceptance they had to keep the ratio up .. but on every answer? I'm also baffled. However, the user didn't do anything technically wrong:

  1. No content was defaced, though several posts were removed in the recent past. But, that's not exactly uncommon.
  2. No votes were targeted (minus the loss of the acceptance bonus)
  3. No other signs of the user being angry, at all.

In other words, I sincerely doubt that rage was any kind of motive for this.

I agree on some rate limiting being put into place if this happens again and wasn't some extremely rare incident brought on by circumstances that are not likely to repeat. While coincidental, I'm not convinced that the removal of the accept rate display had much to do with this.

And yes, I agree, it's not a very nice thing to do. But, I'm still kind of baffled. I'll keep looking.

I have no idea why or even if the user decided to do this. I just finished going through every question and viewed any deleted comments, there was only one instance where an accept rate was mentioned, and it was not antagonistic. So, obviously, the user was not overly pressured by people to accept answers that for whatever reason just didn't work for them.

It could simply be that upon realizing that the metric was no longer displayed, they elected to reverse the acceptance they had to keep the ratio up .. but on every answer? I'm also baffled. However, the user didn't do anything technically wrong:

  1. No content was defaced
  2. No votes were targeted (minus the loss of the acceptance bonus)
  3. No other signs of the user being angry, at all

In other words, I sincerely doubt that rage was any kind of motive for this.

I agree on some rate limiting being put into place if this happens again and wasn't some extremely rare incident brought on by circumstances that are not likely to repeat. While coincidental, I'm not convinced that the removal of the accept rate display had much to do with this.

And yes, I agree, it's not a very nice thing to do. But, I'm still kind of baffled. I'll keep looking.

I have no idea why or even if the user decided to do this. I just finished going through every question and viewed any deleted comments, there was only one instance where an accept rate was mentioned, and it was not antagonistic. So, obviously, the user was not overly pressured by people to accept answers that for whatever reason just didn't work for them.

It could simply be that upon realizing that the metric was no longer displayed, they elected to reverse the acceptance they had to keep the ratio up .. but on every answer? I'm also baffled. However, the user didn't do anything technically wrong:

  1. No content was defaced, though several posts were removed in the recent past. But, that's not exactly uncommon.
  2. No votes were targeted (minus the loss of the acceptance bonus)
  3. No other signs of the user being angry, at all.

In other words, I sincerely doubt that rage was any kind of motive for this.

I agree on some rate limiting being put into place if this happens again and wasn't some extremely rare incident brought on by circumstances that are not likely to repeat. While coincidental, I'm not convinced that the removal of the accept rate display had much to do with this.

And yes, I agree, it's not a very nice thing to do. But, I'm still kind of baffled. I'll keep looking.

deleted 1 characters in body
Source Link
user50049
user50049

I have no idea why or even if the user decided to do this. I just finished going through every question and viewingviewed any deleted comments, there was only one instance where an accept rate was mentioned, and it was not antagonistic. So, obviously, the user was not overly pressured by people to accept answers that for whatever reason just didn't work for them.

It could simply be that upon realizing that the metric was no longer displayed, they elected to reverse the acceptance they had to keep the ratio up .. but on every answer? I'm also baffled. However, the user didn't do anything technically wrong:

  1. No content was defaced
  2. No votes were targeted (minus the loss of the acceptance bonus)
  3. No other signs of the user being angry, at all

In other words, I sincerely doubt that rage was any kind of motive for this.

I agree on some rate limiting being put into place if this happens again and wasn't some extremely rare incident brought on by circumstances that are not likely to repeat. While coincidental, I'm not convinced that the removal of the accept rate display had much to do with this.

And yes, I agree, it's not a very nice thing to do. But, I'm still kind of baffled. I'll keep looking.

I have no idea why or even if the user decided to do this. I just finished going through every question and viewing any deleted comments, there was only one instance where an accept rate was mentioned, and it was not antagonistic. So, obviously, the user was not overly pressured by people to accept answers that for whatever reason just didn't work for them.

It could simply be that upon realizing that the metric was no longer displayed, they elected to reverse the acceptance they had to keep the ratio up .. but on every answer? I'm also baffled. However, the user didn't do anything technically wrong:

  1. No content was defaced
  2. No votes were targeted (minus the loss of the acceptance bonus)
  3. No other signs of the user being angry, at all

In other words, I sincerely doubt that rage was any kind of motive for this.

I agree on some rate limiting being put into place if this happens again and wasn't some extremely rare incident brought on by circumstances that are not likely to repeat. While coincidental, I'm not convinced that the removal of the accept rate display had much to do with this.

And yes, I agree, it's not a very nice thing to do. But, I'm still kind of baffled. I'll keep looking.

I have no idea why or even if the user decided to do this. I just finished going through every question and viewed any deleted comments, there was only one instance where an accept rate was mentioned, and it was not antagonistic. So, obviously, the user was not overly pressured by people to accept answers that for whatever reason just didn't work for them.

It could simply be that upon realizing that the metric was no longer displayed, they elected to reverse the acceptance they had to keep the ratio up .. but on every answer? I'm also baffled. However, the user didn't do anything technically wrong:

  1. No content was defaced
  2. No votes were targeted (minus the loss of the acceptance bonus)
  3. No other signs of the user being angry, at all

In other words, I sincerely doubt that rage was any kind of motive for this.

I agree on some rate limiting being put into place if this happens again and wasn't some extremely rare incident brought on by circumstances that are not likely to repeat. While coincidental, I'm not convinced that the removal of the accept rate display had much to do with this.

And yes, I agree, it's not a very nice thing to do. But, I'm still kind of baffled. I'll keep looking.

Source Link
user50049
user50049

I have no idea why or even if the user decided to do this. I just finished going through every question and viewing any deleted comments, there was only one instance where an accept rate was mentioned, and it was not antagonistic. So, obviously, the user was not overly pressured by people to accept answers that for whatever reason just didn't work for them.

It could simply be that upon realizing that the metric was no longer displayed, they elected to reverse the acceptance they had to keep the ratio up .. but on every answer? I'm also baffled. However, the user didn't do anything technically wrong:

  1. No content was defaced
  2. No votes were targeted (minus the loss of the acceptance bonus)
  3. No other signs of the user being angry, at all

In other words, I sincerely doubt that rage was any kind of motive for this.

I agree on some rate limiting being put into place if this happens again and wasn't some extremely rare incident brought on by circumstances that are not likely to repeat. While coincidental, I'm not convinced that the removal of the accept rate display had much to do with this.

And yes, I agree, it's not a very nice thing to do. But, I'm still kind of baffled. I'll keep looking.