Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

7
  • $\begingroup$ I think you might have misunderstood my question. I've edited it to clarify; see the 'note.' I want the texture to be on all of the roof, including the sides and underside. Not just the top. The top already works fine if I look at it in render mode. $\endgroup$ Commented Jan 24, 2017 at 4:23
  • $\begingroup$ No, I just pointed out that you didn't unwrap your mesh. You will need to do that to get an image texture to map by UV as the default mapping. If you want to use generated coordinates instead, you might have a difficult time getting it to line up. Select all of the faces and Smart Unwrap and that will get you an image on all faces - but the best thing to do is to unwrap the roof from the top view, and then use the other views to unwrap the sides, etc. $\endgroup$ Commented Jan 24, 2017 at 5:31
  • $\begingroup$ Well I think one problem is that I've never come across 'unwrapping' before. I don't know what it is. I was under the impression I just assigned a material to faces, and then assigned a texture to the material. Is there another step in there? $\endgroup$ Commented Jan 24, 2017 at 7:07
  • $\begingroup$ Yes, you need to tell the mesh how to line up on that image per face, so you Unwrap it with the U key either all faces at once or sections at a time, and line them up in the UV/Image Editor to coincide with the pixels of the image texture. Procedural textures do not need the UV mapping, but images really do if they are going to be used in the viewport. $\endgroup$ Commented Jan 24, 2017 at 13:42
  • $\begingroup$ I guess I'm confused why I can see it on the top just fine then, when I'm in Render view. When I unwrap it, the picture zooms in a lot more... I liked it unzoomed. It was the perfect size. $\endgroup$ Commented Jan 24, 2017 at 17:00