CyberPower UPS - bad?

Got one of these, probably rather older, ~4-5 years maybe - can't find my records just now.

Anyway, it completely drops battery power outputs instantly upon the CyberPower panel self-test initiation (or a power outage - my first clue - zero run time). I.e., communicating with the computer via USB, PowerPanel says all is well, UPS functioning correctly and as expected; start self-test and buzz/click/ computer off. Pulled the batteries and they show 12.6 and 12.7v. I think it should be something over 13.5v, maybe, based on numbers printed on the batteries - but I'm not an expert on this.

Is the box likely bad now? So not worth new batteries? Save the batteries for another of the several of these that I have around the house? Get new batteries? It's all bad, throw away the box and recycle the batteries?

Thanks for your help.

I had a Cyberpower desktop UPS exhibit the same behavior, even after a replacement battery. Furthermore, a different model (smaller capacity but with AVR) failed after a power outage and didn't turn itself back on when utility power was restored - which necessitated a trip to the colo datacenter to simply press the damn power button.

Junk it and buy a more reputable brand. I'm personally never buying a Cyberpower product again.

I've already got the replacement unit in from Costco; for the price ($125+tax for a 1500 VA unit with USB-C on the front - basically the old unit updated just a bit) I've been happy enough with the CyberPower, but they don't last so long - basically for the warranty period and I'm buying a new one soon after. I've always been interested in getting new batteries to keep the old ones going longer, but it's never seemed worthwhile in that I get new electronics plus new batteries for just a small amount more - and a new warranty just in case...